Hall of Fame

"The ASA Hall of Fame was established to honor those sportscasters who have achieved excellence in the field of sportscasting. Since 1984, annual Hall of Fame induction ceremonies have been held to recognize the abilities of the world's top sportscasters. Their accomplishments will be recognized and perpetuated in the ASA Hall of Fame."

-- Dick Enberg, ASA Chairman

The ASA Hall of Fame memorialized the illustrious careers of those who gave voice to sports history's greatest moments. The Hall of Fame was officially opened on February 26, 1998, and was located in the MCI National Sports Gallery in Washington, D.C. It featured rare memorabilia, the greats on interactive display, and it traced the history of sports broadcasting since its inception in the early 1920's. A popular attraction allowed fans to recreate early radio broadcasts from a scrolling LED board or dial their favorite sportscasters' most famous calls.

Hall of Fame Members
1990 1980
1991 1981
1992 1982
1993 1983
1994 1984
1995 1985
1996 1986
1997 1987
1998 1988
1999 1989

The 25,000 sq. ft. National Sports Gallery located in the MCI Center in Washington, D.C., was officially closed in 2000 to make room for office space. The ASA is actively pursuing a new space in which to house its Hall of Fame.

Hall of Fame Nominee Selection Committee
Marv Albert
Todd Ant
Scott Clark
Bob Costas
Donna de Varona
Ian Eagle
Dick Enberg
Tommy Heinsohn
Keith Jackson
Gary McKillips
Jon Miller
Jeannie Morris
Jim Nantz
Robin Roberts
Lou Schwartz
Bill Schweizer
Vin Scully
Lesley Visser
Dick Vitale
Bill Walton
Jack Whitaker