Hall of Fame Inductee
Ray Scott
Ray Scott

New York, December 20, 1998
-- Ray Scott has been selected by the membership of the American Sportscasters Association (ASA) as the 1998 Hall of Fame inductee, it was announced today by Louis O. Schwartz, President of the ASA.

The ASA is delighted to honor Ray Scott, a man whose character and integrity as a sports announcer for more than 50 years has been an inspiration for all aspiring sportscasters, stated Schwartz. His play-by-play coverage epitomized the highest level of talent in our profession. Scott’s induction will take place at the Fourteenth Annual Hall of Fame Awards Dinner, to be announced shortly.

The late Ray Scott, known as the Voice of the Green Bay Packers, was the first commentator for the NFL’s national telecasts over the old Dumont Network in 1953. He joined the Packers as their play-by-play announcer in 1956, three years prior to the arrival of Vince Lombardi, and covered the team during their dynasty years until 1967.

Following his stint with Green Bay, Scott was paired with a young Pat Summerall as CBS’ No. 1 announcing team after the merger between the NFL and the AFL, and in 1967 covered the first NFL-AFL title game. During his years as a football announcer, Scott broadcast nine NFL title games, four Super Bowls and virtually every major college bowl game.

After leaving CBS in 1974, Scott did play-by-play for numerous teams, including the Minnesota Twins and Vikings, the Kansas City Chiefs and the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. In addition to his football duties, Scott has covered golf tournaments, college basketball and baseball’s World Series.

In 1987, Scott was presented with the NFL Alumni’s highest award - the Art Rooney Order of the Leather Helmet. He was also named Sportscaster of the Year 12 times in four different states - Pennsylvania, Florida, Wisconsin and Minnesota - and twice has been named the best sports broadcaster nationally.

Up until his retirement in 1997 due to illness, Scott hosted a nationally syndicated radio talk show. On March 23, 1998, after battling numerous health problems, Scott died in a Minneapolis hospital at the age of 78.

ASA Hall of Famers are: Mel Allen, Red Barber, Jack Brickhouse, Jack Buck, Harry Caray, Howard Cosell, Don Dunphy, Marty Glickman, Curt Gowdy, Ernie Harwell, Chick Hearn, Ted Husing, Keith Jackson, Clem McCarthy, Jim McKay, Graham McNamee, Lindsey Nelson, Vin Scully, Chris Schenkel, Bill Stern and Jack Whitaker.