Bob Trumpy Receives the 2014 Pete Rozelle Radio & Television Award

by Lou Schwartz


August 4, 2014 - Bob Trumpy, NFL analyst for NBC Sports for nearly 20 years, received the 2014 Pete Rozelle Radio & Television Award from the Pro Football Hall of Fame. The award, which recognizes “longtime exceptional contributions to radio and television in professional football,” was presented on August 1 during the Enshrinees' Gold Jacket Dinner as this year's class of Derrick Brooks, Ray Guy, Claude Humphrey, Walter Jones, Andre Reed, Michael Strahan, and Aeneas Williams received their prestigious Hall of Fame jacket.

After a 10 year NFL career as a Pro Bowl tight end with the Cincinnati Bengals, Trumpy began his broadcasting career in 1978 as an NFL analyst for NBC Sports.

From 1992-94, he was teamed with ASA Chairman Dick Enberg as the network’s top announcing crew, calling Super Bowls XXVII and XXVIII.  Other partners included Bob Costas, Jay Randolph, Charlie Jones, Marv Albert, Dan Hicks, Joel Myers, Bryant Gumbel, Ahmad Rashad, Phil Simms, and Paul Maguire.

On the radio side, Trumpy called "Monday Night Football" for NBC Radio alongside Don Criqui in 1985 and 1986, as well as Super Bowls XX and XXI. In 1999, he joined Westwood One Radio as the "Sunday Night Football" analyst, serving in that capacity through his retirement after the 2007 season.

In addition to his football duties, Trumpy broadcast three Olympic Games for NBC (1988, 1992, and 1996), and was part of the network's golf coverage from 1992-99.  From 1975-1990, Trumpy was also a fixture on Cincinnati radio as the host of local programs on WCKY, WLW, and WBOB, earning him "Ohio Sportscaster of the Year” awards in 1982 and 1986.

*                     *                         *