ASA Sportsbeat
"Sportscasting in the News"

November 28, 2019

The following is some the sportscasting news that has been making headlines recently. 

Please send us your news, updates, comments and/or corrections to be used in next week's edition. Email us at

On behalf of the ASA Board of Directors, I would like to wish you a Happy, Healthy and Joyous Thanksgiving.

                                                               ~ Lou Schwartz, President

Congratulations to ASA Board Member and CBS announcer Jim Nantz and his partner Tony Romo for being voted the No. 1 network NFL announcing team for 2019 in a poll taken by the sports fan website, Awful Announcing. Rounding out the top 10 of the 14 network NFL broadcast teams were:  2. Al Michaels and Cris Collinsworth (NBC); 3. Kevin Harlan and Rich Gannon (CBS);  4. Ian Eagle and Dan Fouts (CBS); 5. Joe Buck and Troy Aikman (FOX); 6. Kevin Burkhardt and Charles Davis (FOX); 7. Greg Gumbel and Trent Green (CBS); 8. Thom Brennaman and Chris Spielman (FOX); 9.  Kenny Albert and Ronde Barber (FOX); and 10. Chris Myers and Daryl Johnston (FOX).

Still sidelined with an injury, Warriors All-Star Klay Thompson will take to the sideline as a reporter for NBC Sports Bay area during tonight's game between Golden State and the Chicago Bulls.

Eli Gold, Lifetime ASA member and Voice of Alabama Crimson Tide football since 1988, will receive the Chris Schenkel Award for excellence in broadcasting from the National Football Foundation at the NFF's 62nd annual awards dinner on Dec 10th. The Master of Ceremonies for the event, which will be held at the Hilton Midtown in New York City.  is Fox NFL analyst Charles Davis.

Ernie Johnson is celebrating his 30th year at Turner Sports, and to commemorate the occasion the station threw him a party. When the longtime "NBA on TNT" host pulled up to the Atlanta station gates last Thursday, he was met by friend and comedian Jeff Foxworthy who escorted Johnson to a surprise party in his honor. The guests included his family, his NBA on TNT co-hosts and the University of Georgia marching band.

Gary Danielson issued an apology to Chamberlain Smith, the photographer who was injured during a collision on the sideline during the Georgia-Auburn game on November 15. "In real-time, I just didn’t see what happened, said Danielson, as CBS came on the air for the Georgia-Texas A&M game on November 23. "In fact I might have been the last person to see what happened. That confusion and my commentary that followed led some to conclude I was being insensitive to Chamberlain’s serious situation... I want to apologize to Chamberlain and our CBS viewers for that."

Jim Hughson, longtime "Hockey Night in Canada" play-by-play announcer, received the 2019 Foster Hewitt Memorial  Award from the Hockey Hall of Fame on November 18. The award is named for the legendary announcer who called his first game in 1923 and coined the phrase, "He shoots, he scores!"